Karnataka Olympics Association Honors State’s Best Athletes

The Karnataka Olympics Association (KOA) Awards 2018 was presented by governor Vajubhai Vala on 27 Dec 2018, Thursday at Karnataka Olympic Bhavan, Bangalore.

Awardees of the Karnataka Olympics Association (KOA) awards 2018

Sridhar J Patankar Veteran Basketball Player
Shyamala Shetty Veteran Weightlifter
Chethan B Athletics
Vinod Kumar T Photographer
Suraj R Prabodh Tennis
Nalina G T Volleyball
Sukesh Hegde Kabaddi
Sanjana Ramesh Basketball
Keerthana T K Rowing
Neelakanta Rao Jagdale Sports Promoter
Mithula U K Badminton
Cheeyanna A S Hockey
Srihari Nataraj Swimming
Manjunatha Marati Weightlifting
Rajesh N Jagdale Sports Promoter
Megha S Garud Cycling
Geeta K Danappagol Judo

The award consists cash price of Rs. 1 lakh for the active athletes and Rs. 25,000 for the veterans.

Awardees of the Karnataka Olympics Association (KOA) awards 2018

Governor said, “All sportspersons must always be fearless and I promise them continuous support from the government.”

K Govindaraj, president, KOA, said: “We have planned tournaments for athletes below 15 years and we seek the government’s support for the same.”

Srihari Nataraj, swimmer star extremely honored to receive the award. He said, “I am very happy today. I have a lot to look forward to next year. In 15 days, there is Khelo India coming up. I am focused on qualifying for the World Championship, for which I have done the B qualification mark in 200M and 100M backstroke. I am aiming to achieve the A qualification mark. Of course, the biggest target is the Tokyo Olympics in 2020 and I want to work hard and book my berth by October next year.”

Source: Deccan Herald

0 Comment